Ice Ice Crazy

‘Tis the season for ice cream and other summer delights, and I hereby fondly remember the types of ice cream I’ve tried and note down here those yet to try. If you’ve eaten any of these frozen delights or can add to my wishlist, do leave a comment!

Ice cream eaten

American Dippin’ Dots – rainbow ice cream balls the size of bean bag beans. I ate mine over a decade ago in a shopping mall in Hong Kong. Photo from Wikimedia Commons.

Chinese fried ice cream – take this literally. The last time I bought one was from a street stall in Sichuan, but here’s a photo from a stall in Beijing, where they served the ice cream sandwiched between two cones.

Camel milk ice cream – I bought mine at the Hole Park Camel Race in Kent.

German spaghettieis – ice cream with toppings made to look like spaghetti with tomato sauce and grated parmesan. I ate mine at Gelateria Bouganvillea in Sorrento.

Goat milk ice cream – I tried raspbery and chilli and lemon, lime and basil flavoured ones from the Greedy Goat stall in Borough Market, London.

Homemade ice cream – there’s nothing better than homemade ice cream, without the ice crystals that come with supermarket bought tubs. I’ve been privileged enough to have some strange ice cream experiences in the UK thanks to G&D’s in Oxford (for other tasty Oxford eats click here). There’s a flavours suggestions book, and during my time there I’ve tried flavours of vodka, mince pies and brandy butter, wasabi, and butter beer. Photo from Wikipedia.

Ice cream eaten in bizarre ways – Namely chocolate and vanilla ice cream sprinkled with chunks of blue cheese at Pagrabins in Kuldiga, Latvia, and ice cream served on a block of ice at Rozengrals in Riga, the nation’s capital.

Ice cream mooncake – ice cream made to look like a mooncake (but not taste-wise). I bought mine from Häagen-Dazs in Shanghai. Photo from Wikimedia Commons.

Indian kulfi – milk boiled down to a thick liquid. I ate my mango flavoured one at the Indian restaurant Chutney’s in Oxford, a favourite of Bill Clinton when he was a student at Oxford University.

Italian gelato – low-fat ice cream less air than other ice cream, sometimes with egg added. Interesting gelato I’ve had include one shaped into rose from Amorino in Place de Pompidou in Paris (Amorino has opened shop in London too), and a black truffle and honey gelato from the Gelato Gusto stall at the 2014 Food Festival in Brighton. Gelato Gusto’s ice cream parlour has also given me the crazy flavours that I crave, including pear and parmesan, brown bread, and buttermilk and seabuckthorn.

Japanese ice cream mochi – ice cream in a mochi. Kowloon Dairy taro flavoured 雪米糍 were my childhood staples in Hong Kong. Photo from Wikimedia Commons.

McSwirl – McDonald’s soft serve ice cream cone dipped into a mixture of either chocolate or mango sauce, which freezes and solidifies to form a hard flavoured shell around your ice cream. I bought mine from a McDonald’s Hong Kong in 2009.

Nitrogen ice cream – I bought my tonka bean vanilla flavoured one from ChinChin Labs in Camden Lock Market, London.

Olympic Torch Relay ice cream – ice cream in a very long, Olympic-torch-sized cone. I watched whole families buy one to share, from Fusciardi’s in Eastbourne, while waiting for the torch to pass by.

Taiwanese baobing – shaved frozen milk. I bought my yakult flavoured one at a café in Yangshuo.

Taiwanese dual-flavoured giant soft serve ice cream – take this literally. I bought mine from a street stall in Yangshuo.

Turkish dondurma – elastic ice cream, due to the addition of salep (literally ‘fox’s testicle’, actually ground orchid root). I bought mine from a street stall in Antalya.

Ice cream still to eat

Alaskan akutaq – ice cream made from reindeer fat or other kinds of tallow, mixed with seal oil, freshly fallen snow or water, fresh berries, and sometimes ground fish. Photo from Wikimedia Commons.

Danish ice cream – ice cream contained in a giant wafer cone.

Human breast milk ice cream – some may say controversial, others simply natural…

Korean jipangyi – ice cream served in a corn puff tube.

Malaysian ais kacang – ice cream served on shaved ice, with toppings. Photo from Wikipedia.

Filippino sorbetes – coconut milk ice cream.

Thai ice cream rolls – ice cream mixed and instantly frozen and scraped into rolls.

Xamaleon ice cream – ice cream that changes colour as you lick it.

Leave a Reply

