Image
0

Hong Kong monkeys

 

Monkey business

 

This Chinese New Year I don’t have much to celebrate. I’m a monkey and it’s my unlucky year. I do look back fondly though at my trip up to Kam Shan Park (金山公園) three years ago, when I last met the cheeky macaques who have made the park their home. Believe it or not, Hong Kong is not a concrete jungle – over two-thirds of Hong Kong is rural, and I myself lived in a nature reserve! The ancestors of these macaques were probably pets, and today they have lost none of their fearlessness of humans. So do pay them a visit if you’re ever passing through – only beware of leaving food or drink in sight since they are now expert pickpocketers. This one here is minding its own business…fortune-telling perhaps? Must be my kindred spirit in the animal kingdom.

Leave a Reply

