Confucius on maturity

In my twenties I was still ironing out bad habits, though one good habit I developed was to finally settle into the daily routine of teeth-flossing. I continued to be a bookworm but instead of just reading paper books I started to read on apps and to audiobooks and I drifted off to sleep to podcasts. Since my bookshelves were already full, I became an avid user of the library and virtually stopped buying books. My holiday habits also evolved: I referred to guidebooks less and sought for local/expat insider tips more when planning for my travels. As life settled into a steady rhythm that threatened to become monotonous, I started to forage when I went out for walks and tried to make familiar routes more interesting by researching the nature I saw.

Now, as I turn 30 and enter the first day of my 31st year, I think of Confucius, of how he defined the achievements of each decade, and how to take my own stand in a world filled with ever more diverse perspectives and yet at the same time self-censorship, giant technological leaps that both empowers and makes us more vulnerable than ever, and uncertainty for the planet’s future coupled with a newfound appreciation for our natural environment.

At 30, I took my stand 三十而立

At 40, I no longer had doubts 四十而不惑

At 50, I knew the will of the heavens 五十而知天命

At 60, my ear was attuned 六十而耳順

At 70, I follow all the desires of my heart without breaking any rule 七十而從心欲,不踰矩

Leave a comment